Member Login
  • Home Economics Institute of Australia (Qld)

    A powerful voice for the home economics profession in Queensland. We provide leadership, products and services to meet the professional needs of home economics professionals.

Year 11/12 Design syllabus: Please have your say. This is important for the future of our discipline.

HEIA(Q) encourages you to respond to the QCAA Design syllabus. Please find below:

  • Details to respond to the draft syllabus
  • Details of an HEIA(Q) meeting to discuss the Design syllabus prior to submitting your response.

Responding to the draft syllabus
The 2nd draft of the Years 11/12 Design syllabus was released February 2017.  The closing date for feedback is 3rd March, giving a very short turn around for consultation. The syllabus and survey can be accessed using the following links:
Consultation survey:

HEIA(Q) meeting to discuss the syllabus
Local members may find it useful to attend a meeting to review and respond to the syllabus and survey. Meeting details:

  • Purpose: Response to QCAA Design syllabus
  • Date: Tuesday 28thFebruary
  • Time: 4.00 pm–6.00 pm
  • Venue: Airport International Motel, 528 Kingsford Smith Dr, Hamilton, Brisbane QLD 4007.

Please arrive at 4.00 pm for light refreshments, with a prompt start at 4.15 pm. Please read the draft syllabus prior to attending the meeting to make full use of the meeting time to respond accordingly. RSVP to Kirsten McCahon at

HEIA(Q) invites all members and their families and friends to celebrate World Home Economics Day and to attend the HEIA(Q) 2017 Annual General Meeting at the prestigious Queensland Club. Please consider making a group booking with your colleagues.

The International Federation for Home Economics (IFHE) theme for World Home Economics Day (WHED) 2017 is Home Economics literacy: Empowering for healthy and sustainable lifestyles. The HEIA(Q) 2017 celebration will allow participants to reflect on the importance of home economics literacy as they:

  • enjoy a delicious high tea at the prestigious heritage-listed Queensland Club
  • acknowledge the Queensland 2017 King and Amy O’Malley scholars
  • attend the (brief) HEIA(Q) Annual General Meeting
  • network with like-minded professionals.

Date:     Saturday 18 March, 2017
Time:    10.00 am – 12.00 pm
Venue: The Gold Room, Queensland Club, 19 George Street, Brisbane
Cost:     Members: $45; Non-members: $55
Dress:   High tea chic

To book, please go to Trybooking:

Registration is open until 13 March 2017 unless the event fills prior to that date.

For further information, please contact:
Belinda Ingram
T: 0427 188 139

Invitation to contribute to HEIA(Q)’s display at the 2017 intocraft exhibition

In March 2016 HEIA(Q) displayed student work in the Stitches and Craft Show. Next year we would like to do the same. The show has been renamed ‘Intocraft’ and Jill Shehab from All Saints Anglican College has generously offered to coordinate the 2017 display. We would like to give HEIA members the opportunity to submit work to be exhibited as part of the HEIA(Q) display. We encourage you to take this opportunity to showcase high-quality student work. Further information regarding dates and processes is available on the flyer Calling for student work for intocraft display. Looking forward to seeing a fantastic display of student work in 2017.