Member Login

About HEIA(Q)


Dr Janet Reynolds Award for Service to HEIA(Q)

The Dr Janet Reynolds Award is awarded for outstanding service to HEIA(Q) over a period of time. The HEIA(Q) Committee of Management decides on the recipients of this award, which is presented at the HEIA(Q) annual state conference. The inaugural awards were made in 2015 to members Denise McManus and Cheryl Conroy; Aileen Lockhart was the recipient in 2016.

Recipient of the HEIA(Q) 2017 Dr Janet Reynolds Service Award
Sue Smith
The recipient of the 2017 Dr Janet Reynolds Service Award is Susan Smith from Clairvaux MacKillop College, Upper Mount Gravatt. Sue has given tirelessly to HEIA(Q) for many years. Although as a young child Sue wanted to be an astronaut, fortunately for our profession by the time she completed high school she had decided to be a home economics teacher. Sue credits her wonderful fellow teachers, the brilliant members of the Conference Organising Committee and the inspiring presenters at conferences and regional workshops for making her very proud to be part of this caring and stimulating professional environment.

Sue has always been actively involved in home economics education and professional development, including involvement with and support of HEIA(Q). She is now in her seventh year as the HEIA(Q) Brisbane South Regional Coordinator and has been an active HEIA(Q) Conference Organising Committee member since 2012. Sue sees her time spent in conference planning as ‘fun’, while providing growth through exploring and searching for relevant topics and presenters, and working with other professionals who share her passion. During the state conferences Sue willingly takes on a range of roles such as helping on the registration desk, managing the roving microphones and chairing concurrent sessions. Demonstrating her commitment and passion, Sue has agreed to take on the role of Conference Convenor for the 2018 HEIA(Q) state conference.

Teacher Excellence Awards

Each year, the Queensland Division of the Home Economics Institute of Australia invites nominations for the HEIA(Q) Home Economics Teacher Excellence Awards.

Recipients of the HEIA(Q) 2017 Teacher Excellence Awards
HEIA(Q) President Kirsten McCahon was delighted to award teachers Helen Willmett (St Margaret Mary’s College, Townsville) and Kay York (Park Ridge State High Schl) with the 2017 Teacher Excellence Awards. The presentations were made in front of 350 peers at the HEIA(Q) 2017 state conference held on 12 August 2017 at Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. Unfortunately, Helen was not able to attend the conference so her colleague Wendy Owens, who is also the HEIA(Q) regional coordinator for Townsville, accepted the award on Helen’s behalf. Wendy then arranged to present the award to Helen at the HEIA(Q) Townsville regional workshop program on Friday 25 August 2017. Sincere congratulations to both Helen and Kay.

Helen Willmett

Kay Yorke









About the awards
Each year, nominations are invited for practising teachers who have, in recent times, demonstrated excellence consistently across several facets of home economics education such as teaching practice, curriculum development, student success, professional activities . . . Primary focus should be given to activities relating directly to home economics but may also include activities relating to, for example hospitality and early childhood. Nominations must be made on the nomination form that is made available each year and sent to:

Teacher Excellence Awards
Home Economics Institute of Australia (Q)
PO Box 629, Kallangur Q 4503


  • Nominees must be financial members of HEIA Inc (individual or school).
  • A member who has received an HEIA(Q) Home Economics Teacher Excellence Award is eligible for re-nomination three years after receiving the award.
  • A maximum of three awards will be presented annually. A panel will review the nominations.
  • The nomination must address at least two of the three criteria comprehensively but be clear and concise, occupying no more than two A4 pages.
  • You may nominate a colleague or nominate yourself.
  • The nomination must be seconded by another member or a school representative such as the Principal.

This is an invaluable opportunity to recognise and celebrate the outstanding work done by home economics practitioners. Home economics teachers contribute much to education in Queensland and this is one way the profession can acknowledge practitioners who excel.

The Excellence Awards are presented at the annual HEIA(Q) state conference. Regional functions may be arranged to celebrate awardees from regional centres.

HEIA members awarded nearly $27,000 worth of National Excellence in School Leadership Initiative (NESLI) scholarships

Congratulations to all recipients!At the HEIA national conference dinner held at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground, HEIA proudly announced those HEIA members who had been awarded scholarships by the National Excellence in School Leadership Initiative (NESLI). In preparation for the HEIA 2017 national conference, HEIA partnered with NESLI to enable HEIA members registering for the conference to be awarded a full scholarship to the Women’s Advanced Leadership Program, valued at $5890, or one of five partial scholarships, each one valued at $3500. Successful completion of the Advanced Leadership Program enables participants to gain 12 credit points towards a Master of Leadership or Masters of Education from Monash University, subject to Monash University admission requirements. This equates to 25% of the Master qualification. This is wonderful for the future of our profession.

Nesli photo

L-R: Kay York, Carla Wood, Amanda Sutton (HEIA[Tas]),
Leanne Compton (HEIA[V]), Stacey Rogers

Although NESLI had pledged five partial scholarships for our conference delegates, the standard of the applicants was so high that it was decided to award six. This equates to scholarships worth approximately $27,000 being awarded to HEIA members at the conference.

The recipient of the NESLI 2017 HEIA conference full scholarship was:

  • Amanda Sutton from Tasmania.

The recipients of the partial scholarships announced at the dinner were:

  • Leanne Compton (Vic)
  • Stacey Rogers (Qld)
  • Carla Wood (Qld)
  • Kay York (Qld).

The other two recipients were not at the dinner so were announced at the conference plenary session the next morning. They were:

  • Indji Hayrebet (WA)
  • Christine Prakash (Qld).

Announcing the scholarship recipients, HEIA member Dr Janet Reynolds congratulated the recipients and wished them well in their futures as, hopefully, our future leaders. On behalf of our members, Jan also thanked NESLI for providing this wonderful opportunity to the HEIA community, and in particular thanked NESLI Executive Officer Betti Tovishazy, for the generosity and the confidence that has been shown in the home economics education profession.

Stay tuned for possible future scholarship opportunities.