Member Login

About HEIA(Q)

Working with national HEIA

HEIA(Q) is a Division of the national Home Economics Institute of Australia (HEIA).

The Institute comprises eight Divisions, one from each state and territory. The members of a Division are those members of the Institute who normally reside in that state or territory.

Each Division manages its own affairs to reflect the objects of the Institute. In addition, each Division plays a strong role at the national level through representation on the national Council and through participation on nationally formed committees and task groups.

The affairs of the Institute are managed at a national level by the national Council, which:

  • determines policy and conducts and coordinates the national business of the Institute
  • is made up of ten members: a representative from each of the eight Divisions (known as delegates), the immediate Past-President (or President-Elect) and the current President—the President, while a member of one of the Divisions, does not represent any one Division, as is the case with the President-Elect and Past-President
  • elects a Secretary, Treasurer and an executive member from the eight Divisional representatives, who, with the President and immediate Past-President (or President-Elect), form the executive of Council.

The national Council has established a number of Standing Committees to manage the affairs of the Institute:

    • Education
    • Finance
    • International affairs
    • Membership
    • Merchandising
    • Professional development
    • Publications
    • Public health
    • Telecommunications.

Divisions accept responsibility for one or more of the Standing Committees. For example, the Education and Publications Standing Committees have been convened by Queensland members, and the journal and national newsletter have been edited and produced in Queensland.