Member Login
  • Curriculum

Years 11–12

Years 11–12 Home Economics curriculum in Queensland

Years 11–12 syllabuses, available from Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority, for home economics departments include:

Home Economics Senior Syllabus 2010

(Authority subject)

The Home Economics Senior Syllabus 2010 was approved for general implementation commencing in 2011 with Year 11 students. No student in Year 12 will be able to record semester units of the 2001 Home Economics Senior Syllabus on the Senior Certificate after 2011.

A four-semester course of study in Home Economics has:

  • a core consisting of:
    • three areas of study (Individuals, families and communities; Nutrition and food; and Textiles and fashion) developed through an inquiry approach that explores issues or design challenges
    • key concepts for each area of study
    • four to six units of work, of which two are ‘substantial’ units of work, as defined in the syllabus
  • elective elements, which can be achieved by grouping key concepts to create units of work or by using a theme.

The three areas of study are to be evident across the course of study. They may be delivered individually or integrated by combining two or more areas of study. Two areas of study must be studied and assessed in Year 12. Within each semester, students must be provided opportunity to demonstrate what they know and can do with respect to:

  • Knowledge and understanding
  • Reasoning and communicating processes
  • Practical performance.

Early Childhood 2007 Study Area Specification

(Authority-registered subject) The Early Childhood 2007 SAS helps students develop skills such as parenting, communicating (for example, with children, family, clients), planning and preparing resources and activities, reading and acting out stories, and working cooperatively. The subject encourages students to perform roles that facilitate, support and enhance child development, and helps them to develop confidence and readiness for the workplace and parenthood.

The minimum requirements for a course of study are:

  • three study area core topics
  • at least four units of work

The study area core topics are:

  1. The value of play
  2. Observing quality practices
  3. Observing children’s behaviour.

Thirteen units of work are provided as starting points or contexts from which schools may construct a program of study. Schools must choose at least four of these, including Unit 1 and Unit 2. These units of work are guides only. Schools are encouraged to adapt the units of work to suit their own context. The units of work are:

  1. Introducing early childhood
  2. Foundations of child development
  3. Social and emotional development of children
  4. Physical development
  5. Intellectual and language development
  6. The physical care of children
  7. Play in early childhood education
  8. Creativity, self-expression and problem solving and the young child
  9. Parenting
  10. Behaviour guidance
  11. Children with special needs
  12. Accident prevention and safety
  13. Career pathways in childcare

Hospitality Studies Syllabus 2009

(Authority subject)

The Hospitality Studies Syllabus 2009 explicitly combines general and vocational education components. The syllabus comprises five topic areas and two certificate courses.

The five topic areas are:

  • Kitchen production
  • Beverage production and services
  • Food and beverage services
  • Accommodation services
  • Clubs and gaming services.

The two certificate courses are:

  • SIT10207 Certificate I in Hospitality
  • SIT10307 Certificate I in Hospitality (Kitchen Operations).

The minimum requirements are:

  • the general objectives:
    • Knowledge and understanding
    • Reasoning
    • Practical performance
    • Attitudes and values.
  • one of the two certificate courses embedded in the syllabus
  • two of the five topic areas, one of which must be from topic areas 1, 2 or 3, must be evident in Year 12 and should be evident in Year 11.

Topic areas may be delivered in any order. Within each semester, students should be given an opportunity to achieve within each of the exit criteria.

The units of competency should be integrated where relevant into the learning experiences developed for the topic area. Delivery and assessment of the units of competency are documented in the training and assessment strategy (TAS) developed by the school.

Hospitality 2006 (Updated 2010) Study Area Specification

(Authority-registered subject)

The Hospitality Study Area Specification, sample study plans and information about registration with the Australian Quality Training Framework can be accessed on the QCAA website.

This study area specification is designed to provide an understanding of the hospitality workplace culture and practices, and develop the skills, processes and attitudes crucial for working in the industry. The specification enables students to investigate hospitality as a possible future career and to develop an awareness of ethical and responsible attitudes in the work environment.

The course allows schools to develop integrated work situations in the form of events or functions that involve a natural progression of activities associated with hospitality. An extended learning situation in which teams of students conduct a flow of work from kitchen through food preparation to restaurant service and clean-up is encouraged. The development of efficient and effective work practices and skills is emphasised.

Venture activities are incorporated into the course, facilitating the development of teamwork as well as the development of individual skills. Skills implicit in hospitality include working in teams, demonstrating effective communication, and organisational and interpersonal skills.

The study area specification Hospitality enables three approaches to cater for a broad range of students in Years 11 and 12:

Approach A: Vocational Education and Training (VET) certificates

Schools may choose from SIT10207 Certificate I in Hospitality or SIT20207 Certificate II in Hospitality. Certificate II would usually be completed over 4 semesters. Either of these certificates is suitable for students seeking direct entry-level qualification into the hospitality industry. It is strongly recommended that students undertaking the certificates be given the opportunity for work placement.

Approach B: Vocational Learning (VL) strand

Schools may devise a course of study over four semesters that is based on units that are designed to promote vocational education as well as general knowledge and skills needed for employment in the hospitality industry. For some schools, meeting the human and physical resource requirements attached to vocational units of competency presents difficulties. Approach B has been developed to meet the needs of these schools.

Approach C: VET strand

Students complete Certificate I in Hospitality over two semesters and a course of study based on units selected from those outlined in Approach B in the remaining two semesters.